Dieter Van den Bleeken

Dear Professor Nüket Yetiş,

news has reached me that in the future both the location and scientific mission of the Feza Gursey Institute (FGE) might drastically change. Although I do not presume to question or influence any of TUBITAK’s policy decisions, I would however like to share my personal very positive experiences at the FGE.

I am currently a postdoctoral fellow at the High Energy Theory Center at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA. I first came to Turkey for research purposes in september of last year and spend two weeks at the FGE on invitation of former director prof. Teoman Turgut. The institute offered the perfect working accommodation, with its offices and extensive library. Furthermore I had many interesting discussions with its members, both in physics and mathematics, that helped me with my research. I have acknowledged this in my paper ‘Chronology protection and the stringy exclusion principle’, published in the Journal of High Energy Physics, that was partially written during my stay. My visit in september was so fruitful that I returned for two other visits, both of two weeks, in december 2010 and april 2011. Apart from hosting an excellent permanent staff, the FGE is also a meeting point for many of the experts at the different universities in Istanbul. It is at the FGE that I made many new contacts and scientific exchanges with these local researchers. These meetings were so succesful that they convinced me continue my career in Istanbul. I will take up a TUBITAK fellowship in mathematics at Galatasaray University from september to december this year, and will then continue with another TUBITAK fellowship at Bogazici University from december 2011 to december 2012.

I think my personal experience shows that apart from being an important research institute for Turkish scientists, the FGE also actively helps in promoting Turkish science and scientists abroad, and both it’s staff of experts and central location amidst the many Istanbul Universities are key to this. Furthermore it facilitates exchange with international researchers and helps to bring foreign scientists to Turkey. Especially in such a large, active and international field as mathematics and mathematical physics this seems extremely important.

Sincerly,

dr. Dieter Van den Bleeken
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
136 Frelinghuysen Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8019 USA

About fezagursey

Physicist.
This entry was posted in Akademisyen Mektupları - int, Bakan ve Başkana Mektuplar. Bookmark the permalink.

